Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 13th, 2012

Easter Stitch Fling

I must be extra succinct, as so much happened this week.

Friday…. ah yes Friday. Scrambling up the stairs of a Quad building, following a friend of his, climbing “like a cat” he wiped out, smacking his eyebrow on the edge of a slate step. There was blood, crying, and a trip to CHOP (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.) Luckily it is a 3 block walk, and they weren’t crowded, so we were there 3 hours, which didn’t seem bad. The only time Silas cried at the hospital was during the band-aid removal. He received only local anesthetic, followed by eight stitches. Picture below, not too gruesome, but slightly disturbing as it is of course my son. The stitches are set to dissolve, and Silas enjoys talking about his “boo boo.”

Easter at Mimi and Pop’s house, with my sister, brother, and their spouses, one of which is extraordinarily pregnant. Ayanna is in fact probably in labor as I write this. That’s some exciting stuff. Wish them luck and joy, and I’ll share a photo or two next week for sure. But back to Easter, we stayed overnight and Silas enjoyed his annual easter egg hunt. After every egg he’d ask “Can I eat them now?”

Silas cute new phrases are of course borrowed from both literature and the small screen. He says “I want to go to my cozy little bed,” borrowed from a Ted and Fred book. Then he started saying “Funny, but not funny ‘ha ha.'” That’s Backyardigans for you.

And Fling… ah yes Fling. That’s today and tomorrow, a huge campus party with amusements, games, two music stages, and lots of illicit alcohol consumption and parties both discreet and careless. It is usually a train wreck, and students are surprised that we’re staying in-town. I don’t find it too disturbing, but maybe I shouldn’t let my guard down. As long as they don’t wake up Silas I guess we’ll be ok. Maybe we can slip Silas into the bouncy house which is being inflated not 30 feet from our front door. Preferably early in the afternoon, before anybody gets sick in it, or fall asleep in it (or both.)  I’m going to embrace the event and shoot lots of pictures. The party doesn’t stop until tomorrow evening, but we’ll be gone for quite a bit tomorrow, seeing both the Van Gogh exhibit at the museum, and putting some miles in on the bike. Hopefully we’ll also take a road trip up north to see the new little Weave.

Oh I forgot… Molly will kill me if I fail to mention this. Molly and I were talking earlier on in the week, when suddenly Molly asked…. “Where’s Silas?” He was sitting on the toilet by himself, already having done his business. We were shocked. He’s  said several times since “I have to pee. You no come with!” So we’re proud of him for that. We’re leaving the bathroom gate open now to encourage him to go by himself. Hopefully he won’t flush an iPhone when we’re not looking. Cross the fingers.

Here it is- the photo dump

waiting for the doc at CHOP

Strapped down waiting for stitches

One week later

Treats

An egg up a tree?

Time to eat

Race with Cameron

A syringe!

Drool

Read Full Post »